RSS

Love at First Sight

24 May

He sat alone at a table in the corner of the restaurant facing the door. Would she show up? Was she as nervous as he was? He  almost hadn’t come himself but his friend Jeff had pushed him. “Jordon, what do you have to lose? After all if you don’t go you’ll never know. She might be ‘the One’, she might not be; but if you don’t go you’ll always wonder.”

So here he sat, nervously waiting. As he waited he wondered, would she show up for their first date? They had talked online for months and it had seemed that they’d clicked. However, face to face was different. Here, he couldn’t hide his secret. He had to put it all on the line and hope that she was as hopelessly enamored of him as he was of her.

The door opened, and in walked a woman in high heels and a loose skirt. Could this be her? They had agreed not to use their web-cams so that their relationship would be based on real feelings, not visual attraction. Which had been perfect for him, it allowed him to keep his secret just a little longer. The down side was he was pretty sure he was halfway in love with her. If his secret was too much for her to handle, his heart was going to be broke. Panic hit him, “Why didn’t I tell her? This is going to be a real shock.” Now it was too late because the woman and the hostess were approaching the table.

Jordon stood and smiled, “You must be Gloria, I’m Jordon. I’m pleased to meet you in person.”

“Jordon you’re much more handsome than I thought. Thanks for agreeing to finally meet me.”

“ After all the time spent talking with you and chatting on line I feel like I know you. Won’t you be seated?”

Both of them sat and the hostess left with the familiar “Your server will be right with you.”

“So?” Gloria asked, are you disappointed?”

“Disappointed? No, why would I be?”

“Jordon, the first thing I said was how handsome you were but you still haven’t mentioned what you think of my appearance. Do I live up to your mental image of me?”

Jordon swallowed the lump in his throat, he should have known he couldn’t keep up the charade for long. “Gloria, I wish I could tell you that you are more lovely than I had dared to hope. Honestly, I don’t know if you are or not.” He reached up and removed his sunglasses, “You see I’m blind so I still haven’t seen you. I know I should have told you before we met. I was going to, but I was afraid.”

“Why were you afraid Jordon? I don’t understand.”

Jordon struggled to keep his voice from breaking with the weight of his emotional turmoil, “Because I’m falling for you and didn’t want to lose you.”

With a smile in her voice Gloria took his hand in hers. “You’re so sweet. How could you possibly think the fact that you can’t see would drive me away?’

Jordon pulled her hand to his lips and kissed her delicate skin inhaling the scent of her perfume. “You might be surprised how often it does. You aren’t the first woman I thought might be right for me. You’re the only one who hasn’t disappeared when they learned my secret.”

“Well I’m not going anywhere I’m in love with the man who spent hours talking to me and chatting with me. If that man can see or not isn’t going to change how I feel.”

With Gloria’s words ringing in his ears Jordon dared to ask for more, “Gloria, I want to see you. Will you come around here so that I can touch your face?”

Jordon felt her rise and approach him, as she knelt down beside him the scent of her perfume, make-up and behind it all her own fragrance drifted around him tickling his sense of smell. Gloria reached down and took his hands, placing them on her face. Gently he ran them over her face, tracing from her brow to her chin and back. Then he smiled and said I think that you must be as beautiful to look at, as your spirit is.”

Slowly he cupped her face and drew her in for a kiss. As their lips met, Jordon experienced the electric feeling of desire. Love burst to life once more in his chest. Finally, he had found the one thing he had been missing: true love. , For the first time since his accident, he thanked God for his life and the blessings God had given him.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 24, 2012 in Short Stories

 

Leave a Reply

 
