RSS

The Wishing Well Curse (review)

10 Jun

As Promised here is my review of Lynn Donovan’s new book “The Wishing Well Curse.”wishing well curse cover

The Wishing Well Curse was my latest read. The publisher sent it to me and asked if I would read it and give one of my infamous Pastor’s Perspective reviews on it. I didn’t realize they were infamous but I did agree. Once I read the story I understood the reason for the request. There are some spoilers in this review later on I will warn you before they come so you can stop reading there if you want.

Over all I have to say I absolutely LOVED this book. Lynn Donavan is a writer to keep an eye on. I think she is going to rocket up the indie author charts and maybe even cross over into the mainstream charts as well. The story is well thought out and extremely well crafted. It was one of those fun, entertaining, cant put down reads that we all love. Let that be a warning to you though once you start it you won’t want to stop till you get to the end. The story is about a young man who inherits his great uncles estate provided he accepts the challenge to “break the family curse.” Nothing is said about what the curse is at first so that is part of the fun of the read. The book is fast paced and the concepts are fun yet deep. So if you like a read that both entertain’s and makes you think this is definitely the book for you.

SPOILERS FOLLOW:

Now for the pastor’s perspective part. This book deals with some subjects that some in the Christian world may find controversial. Specifically Ghosts, Salvation of a Ghost and generational curses. Let me say that I saw nothing here that was heresy but can understand how some Christian’s may be made uncomfortable by the concepts presented. Two of the Characters in this book are Specters trapped in this realm after death something that many Christians feel is unscriptural. I personally don’t feel that and would suggest you check out my blog askpastorgeorge.wordpress.com for my belief of what scripture teaches about the subject.

As for the Salvation of a Ghost it was something I’d never considered before, after all who would? Apparently Mrs. Donavan would. I will say I found the concept intriguing and the explanation given by the Pastor V character made since to me. Since the dead hadn’t crossed over to eternity then Salvation would still be an option but again this isn’t a provable hypothesis. I will go with what Mrs. Donavan herself said when I asked her about it . “The story is fiction it’s not meant to be doctrine.” Good answer.
Generational curses on the other hand are scriptural and we as believers need to quite sticking our head in the sand about such an important topic. That’s all I will say about that.

I look forward to reading many more books by Lynn and cant give this one enough stars because I’m limited to five. It deserves at least twice that many.  Get your copy for only $2.99 here

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 10, 2013 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “The Wishing Well Curse (review)

  1. Lynn Donovan

    June 10, 2013 at 5:43 pm

    Thank you!!!

    Have a Blessed day. Lynn Donovan “Preach the gospel at all times. Use words if necessary.” ~Saint Francis http://SittingOnThePorchWithLynn.blogspot.com Ephesians 3:21 To God be the Glory! Date: Mon, 10 Jun 2013 17:22:32 +0000 To: lynn_donovan@live.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
