RSS

Feeling like this puzzle

16 Oct

 
I’m heading home from the rehab hospital after my third stroke in as many years. This puzzle was part of my rehab. Once it was finished and we realized that there was a piece missing it struck me, I’m a lot like this puzzle. When I got here it felt like I’d been broken into a bunch of tiny pieces. Half my body didn’t work the way it was supposed to and I couldn’t remember things or even find some of the words I used everyday. I felt just like that puzzle looked when they gave it tome in therapy- a bunch of parts that were supposed to make one whole picture. I felt  broken, scared and wondered if I could ever return to the picture of myself I had been before this stroke. 
Like this puzzle it was going to take work, lots and lots of work. However with the help of the staff here at Healthsouth Rehabilitation hospital we were going to try and reassemble those tiny pieces into the man I was before this “incident”. For two weeks they pushed me, they challenged me and with their encouragement I pushed myself. Slowly just like the puzzle that they had me working the pieces started to go back together. Today I’m going home, but like my puzzle I’mnot finished there are pieces missing. My left side though stronger isn’t back to my prestroke strength. I now have to rely on a cane to keep my left leg from giving out when I walk and 150 feet wears me out. I have a piece  missing. Unlike my puzzle I’m not finished. There is still work to do. I’m going home but therapy is still part of my future. Maybe I’ll regain all that was lost maybe not. However even with pieces missing that little puzzle still looks pretty good. SoI think  do I. 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 16, 2015 in Book Reviews

 

5 responses to “Feeling like this puzzle

  1. mlynndonovan

    October 16, 2015 at 3:06 pm

    Oh Pastor G, I’m still praying for you! You’re too young to be this darn old! I think about you often. Thank you for being my friend. God’s healing hand is upon you! He knows best and has an amazing plan for all this. Job 38:4. Father knows best! Even though we don’t like it! Love you, my friend! Keep strong and keep working out!

     
  2. mlynndonovan

    October 16, 2015 at 3:10 pm

    Oh Pastor G, you are in my prayers all the time. Thank you for being my friend, and know that Gods healing hand is upon you. He knows best and is doing what he has planned for your amazing life. Job 38:4. Father knows best! And our father is best of all! Take care, and keep exercising! I admire your diligence! It will make all the difference!!

     
  3. Samantha Fury

    October 18, 2015 at 8:59 pm

    Praying for you and shared also love ya and praying that you find if not all the pieces the most important ones!!

     
  4. ReGi McClain

    October 19, 2015 at 2:41 pm

    I think that’s a really good way to put it. What happens in your body during a stroke is a lot like mixing up the puzzle pieces. Congratulations on being able to get so many of them back in place so quickly! šŸ™‚ Especially given this is your third. šŸ˜¦

    I’m looking forward to more good news. If you could recover enough to do that puzzle in two weeks, you are going to rock the rest of your recovery if you stay strong. šŸ™‚

     
    • pastorgeorgemcvey

      October 30, 2015 at 6:46 pm

      I’m trying my ot gave me new exercises today that are very helpful

       

Leave a Reply

 
