RSS

I Give Up!!

30 May

Can you believe my first book was published five years ago? It wasPrayerwalking for Spiritual Break Through. It was followed by my first novel,Redeeming Reputationa little over a year later. As theRedemption Bookswere published, I kept being called a romance author, a title which I vehemently denied. I went so far in my denial as to get a bit upset when I found outRedeeming Gracehad been entered by a fan into a romance book contest. I was also shocked when it took silver (2nd place) in the Christian Western Romance category. I couldn’t comprehend why no one understood that I didn’t write romance. I wrote westerns with a touch of romance in them.

The_love_of_my_life

Now I laugh about that. Want to know why? Because at the end of last year I realized something. Something that to me was quite shocking. Maybe it will be to you too, but then again, maybe it won’t. You know what shocked me? I realized that (looks both ways to see who’s trying to listen in) I write romance. Up until this year, I wrote Christian Romance. However, I’m giving up!

No I’m not giving up writing so you can put down the nitro tablets. No need for a heart attack. What I’m doing is giving up fighting my true nature. You see while I don’t like to admit it, (thus the five years of denial) I’m a romantic at heart. I always have been. I think the first time I tried to romance a lady was in Kindergarten. I fell head over heels for this little girl in our church and my teacher. Even then I was romantic. Unlike lots of little boys, I didn’t pull her hair or pick on her. I didn’t act up to get teacher’s attention either. I took them little thoughtful gifts. Flowers hand picked from my mom’s flower beds, a little debbie snack, my favorite color crayon. You get the picture.

So I give up. I’m not going to keep fighting my nature. As of this year, I’m officially a romance writer. Not just Christian Romance either. I’m branching out as I embrace my romantic side. I’m writing all kinds of sweet romance. As a matter of fact, besides the last Redemption Book and theMarshall, Texas Rangerseries it’s probably all I’m going to be writing.

I wanted to take a moment and let everyone know in this blog. OH I’ll still write a few other things as they take my interest but mainly I’ll be focusing on romance novels. I hope y’all will come with me on this journey.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 30, 2017 in Book Reviews

 

One response to “I Give Up!!

  1. Sophie Dawson

    May 30, 2017 at 2:16 pm

    So, you finally have listened to me. I’ve been telling you that for what? About 5 years. šŸ˜‰

     

Leave a Reply

 
